GL's Image Thread

Ok, I don’t call myself a spriter, nor do I call myself an artist, but damn do I think up alot of stuff. Of course, what good is the thought when you can never apply it? So, I’ve taken my first bold steps towards the image world. All of the stuff here will be either one of three things: A 3D pre-render, a heavily edited sprite, or a very sucky looking custom sprite by me and me alone. Any constructive critisism is welcome, but don’t destroy me, I’m a noob :>_>:

SPRITE/IMAGE LIST:
1.) Samus Aran Front Views

2.) Super Metroid GF Trooper

3.) Josh Spaulding’s Samus Aran

4.) StarGunner

Not bad, but the shading is lackluster (read: almost nonexistant) and her proportions (mostly the lower legs) are screwed beyond all belief.

Good outline for the most part though.

Forgot to mention that that Samus sprite was a week old :>_>: Ok, I’ll work on it, but first I’ll show you what I did today…

I took a sheet rip of SM’s tiles and found this poor guy who was outside Kraid’s lair. Behold, the first ever GF Trooper! I’m attempting to reconstruct it by comparing it to Samus frames (Note: the legs are obviously recolored Samus legs with slight adjustments, but it’s amazing how close they actually are to the dead sprite’s)

Nice! If you manage to finish the GF trooper, a lot of Metroid sprite-comic authors are gonna be happy! You don’t know HOW often I’ve wished I’d be able to make a sprite-gag involving GF troopers…

Of course, I’d let other people use it for comics, but I wouldn’t give them the entire sheet, just a single frame of each position to secure my sprite in case I use it for my own game >_>

Anyway, In order to pile up on my list of things to do (thus keeping this thread as active as possible) I present to you my currently unfinished Grizby: