My second (and third) Game Maker game

I don’t know if this is the right forum for this, but here it goes…

I just finished my second and third Game Maker games. They’re Metroid platform-shooters. The first one has you taking out several Space Pirates. The “expanded” version, which is the second one, has you taking out several pirates in the same layout, except that when you kill them all, a door opens… what’s on the other side? I’m not telling, go play the game! :stuck_out_tongue:

Yeah, I know they suck. But I’m a game maker newbie! These are only my second and third games. Make sure you GO EASY ON ME. Please.

I like how they turned out, considering my experience… anyways, what do you guys think and are there any suggestions?

You can download a .zip file with both games here:

http://www.angelfire.com/comics/jetman123/…idplatform.html

CONTROLS:

A = fire left
S = fire right
left arrow = move left
right arrow = move left
Up = jump

KNOWN BUGS/GLITCHES/LEAVE-OUTS:

Samus has a white box around her when she’s using her right-facing sprite.

There is no jump or run animation.

Bricks have white lines

Final boss can kill Samus in one hit, due to a glitch with movement.

I WILL BE FIXING THESE IF I HAVE A CHANCE.

Once again, are there any suggestions or comments? All constructive critisism is welcome - I want to learn how to make my next game better.

Edit: Link fixed.

Edit2: Added final-boss glitch.

Well, for one, angelfire doesn’t allow links. find a new host.

And two button’s to shoot? You are a noobie. I don’t mean that in an insulting way, just umm… good luck getting better.

Erm, yeah. I kinda am. That’s why I repeatedly stated that I AM A NEWBIE. It is why I asked for CONSTRUCTIVE CRITISISM. I couldn’t find a way to make it work otherwise. “You don’t mean that in an insulting way?” I’m sorry, but saying “you are a noobie” is an insult, like it or not.

Working on the link now…