Tractor Beam

Hey I’m a c++ programmer and I was wondering if I could help with this project. I have years of experience and have created a number of games using DirectX9. I noticed that you use gamemaker :frowning: although I have this program I don’t like it that much. However I still can help because the language isn’t extremely different, just quite different.

So I wrote up this Snippet after playing your game and I noticed that your game doesn’t have the tractor beam effect for those hard-to-reach pickups. Thus I wrote this to do exactly that and to show an example of my programming style.

The program that I wrote up has some other code such as game loop, key control, and sprite rendering but this is all you?ll need to see.

[code]//the pickup 's location on the horizontal axis
int x_pickup;

//"                         " vertical axis
int y_pickup;

//same as for pickup but for the gun
int x_gun;

int y_gun;

//The velocity in the horizontal axis
int x_velocity;

//The velocity in the vertical axis
int y_velocity;

//The boolean that is true if samus is charging and is false if she is not
bool charge;

void tractor_beam_effect(){
   //The distance between the gun and the pickup on the horizontal axis
   int x_distance;

//"                     " on the vertical axis
   int y_distance;

//the combined distance or 2dimensional distance
   int distance2d;

//finds the x_distance
   x_distance = x_gun - x_pickup;

//finds the y_distance
   y_distance = y_gun - y_pickup;

//finds the 2dimensional distance
   2d_distance = Sqr((x_distance * x_distance) + (y_distance * y_distance));

//This is to check if the pickup is close enough for the tractor beam to grab hold of the object
   if (distance2d < 10/this number is just an example put what ever you want here/)
   {
       //I think that this explains it’s self
       If (charge = True)
       {
           //don’t want to divide by zero!
           If (distance2d != 0)
           {